Testing Neutral Density Filters

I had second thoughts about posting this experiment. I decided to try out my neutral density filters, to see what effect they would have on my pictures. There are ways to replicate the effect in Photoshop, but I thought that since I had these filters lying around that I might as well give them a try. The experiment wasn’t exactly a success, and the pictures I took were not as well taken as I thought they were at the time.

However, it’s been a while since I’ve posted any content on this blog, so I thought I should give an update on my learning process. Also, I was testing the effect the filter had on the image, rather than the image itself. So apologies to anyone expecting better than snapshot-quality pictures. Hopefully my next projects will be better.

So here was the first image, taken without the filter. It looks like I forgot to adjust the white balance to compensate for the glare of the sun. Not to mention the fact that the horizon isn’t even straight.

Here is the second image, taken with the filter attached. As you can see, it doesn’t filter out noise, but it does filter out the light coming in. It also seems to have had an effect on the colour, toning down the blue colour of the picture.

I think the filter would have had greater impact had I taken the picture when there were dark rain clouds in an overcast sky, or with choppier waters.

Having said all this, the filter I used was the lowest strength. Mine was an ND2 – apparently you can get an ND6 and ND8. So perhaps I shouldn’t have expected dramatic results.

Leave a Reply

