The Final Composition

I realize that it’s taken me a while to post this, but then it took me longer than expected to find the time to complete my final task.  A few weeks ago, I headed down to my local cemetery to take the final picture.  I was in a bit of a rush to get this finished and over with, hence the lack of outstanding quality in my final picture.

For this task I had to find a subject and take a series of pictures that describe the process of trying to find the ideal composition, using everything I have learned on the course so far.  I chose a war memorial, basically because it was the easiest subject I could find for this task.

This is what I started with:

The first shot had a distracting background and was not particularly interesting as a composition with the subject right in the centre of the image.

I moved backwards and increased the focal length to bring in more of the clouds overhead, with the intention of adding interest to the composition. Now the subject is dwarfed by the clouds above, and there is noise in picture.

Taken from a different perspective, the image is slightly more interesting, but the sun has put it in shadow. Also, there is still noise in the image.

Taken from a different angle, I thought the foreground elements might help lead the eye towards the subject, but instead it takes up too much space and is distracting. However, there is less noise and excessive shadow from this angle.

I moved in closer and took the show from a slightly different angle to get rid of undesirable foreground element. However, it does not correspond with the rule of thirds too well.

I shifted from portrait to landscape view, which has placed subject firmly within scene and corresponds with the rule of thirds better. The foreground element that I previously did not want in the picture is less dominant.

While I would not consider this to be the greatest picture I’ve ever taken, it does at least fulfill the brief I was given, and I have now finished with this course.  This means that I can take what I’ve learned and apply it to projects that genuinely interest me.  I’ve been looking forward to doing my own thing, as I have spent the past two to three years bogged down with courses.  I’ve been itching to get on with experimenting with techniques and subjects that catch my eye.  Hopefully this will mean I will be updating this blog more frequently from now on.

Leave a Reply

