The Frame

Hello, I realize that it has been a while since I last updated this blog.  The main reason for this has been some difficulties I’ve been having with my PC and card reader.  I had enough material for a further three posts, only for the pictures to be completely erased.  This was incredibly frustrating, but I have finally sorted out my technical issues and I think I am back on course to update this blog more regularly.

As soon as I got my act together, I realize that I have between 1-2 months to submit all my modules to my photography course.  I haven’t even submitted my first one!  So any posts on this blog for the next couple of weeks will be part of my learning log, as I frantically rush through the remaining modules.

Module 1 – The Frame

The objective of this module was to explore the impact and possibilities that the frame has on the composition of an image.  I had to submit three images – a square image, a vertical panorama and a horizontal panorama.

Image 1 – The Square Image

I felt that the square frame did a good job of cutting out excess space that a frame with a more conventional 2:3 aspect ratio would have left this image with.  I also think that it focused in on the subject, helping the composition.

Image 2 – The Vertical Panorama

Vertical Panorama

You might recall this image from my last post.  This course inspired me to try creating panorama’s, and I intend to do some more in the future.

I realize this image is far from perfect – it’s wonky for a start.  But I liked the way that creating a panorama instead of trying to capture the whole thing with a wide-angle lens meant that I could include detail at all three parts of the image – the people around the base, the clouds and the top of the monument.  If I had to use a wide-angle lens, this would have meant a loss of detail at some point, or a distortion of perspective.

Image 3 – The Horizontal Panorama

Horizontal Panorama

Another image from my last post.  Again, using a wide-angle lens to capture the whole scene would have caused a loss of detail at some point in this scene.  Creating a panorama meant that I could capture the street scene without losing the sea view, or pushing the street scene to one side in favour of a sea scape.

Leave a Reply

